4:42 PM Sunday Run

Fighting sleep. My mind won’t keep. 12:42 in the a.m. Sunday’s now gone. Yesterday’s run lingers on. Had decided that morn that I was taking the vibe to Venice Beach. Wanted to run as close to the water’s edge as possible. Story of my life. 

  
A really good meal and a truly bad movie later somewhat derailed all plans of heading out earlier. Hopped on the 108 bus for the 35 minute ride and scenic view of houses that required maids. Hit Windward circle just before sunset. Snagged a bottled coconut. Took a only few swigs. Wanted to avoid getting side stitches later. Bad decision. Should have drank the whole thing to stay hydrated. After stashing my pack and longboard with Babou I headed to the boardwalk. 

Didn’t warm up enough because there was so much energy at the beach. Skaters. Surfers. Locals. Tourists. Artist. Vendors. I wanted in on this time machine. Pressed a few buttons. Leaned into a speaker, “Pink Pegasus take flight!”

  

Started off on the bike path. Ditched that idea after reading Bikes Only more than a few times. I could give two shits about the angry looks I was getting from these weekend pedalers. It was their seemingly lack of direction that split my wig and forced my pace across the sand to the boardwalk.

Breath was unsteady. Pushed the pace too soon. Legs were on autopilot. Couldn’t seem to get my breath on the same plain. Pun jab. Tried to relax in between. Reminding myself that this was not a race. The goal was to remain fluid. Keeping my arms involved. The steady stream of weed smoke didn’t help matters. Medicinal my ass.

Ran all the way to Ferris wheel on Santa Monica Pier. Fought the urge to slide my phone out of its arm sleeve and snap the moment. Kept going. A bathroom break and my music suddenly stopping had already slowed my pace. Headed back. Talking to myself the whole way. Began to feel encouraged when I started passing some of the same people and a few walking runners. Keep Going Baby read one woman’s sweatshirt while a cool looking dad stuck out his hand in support. Returned the palm plant. Took it as a sign. And kept going. 

  

Leave a Reply

