Pre Cycle Ice Cream Wellness Shot Boost

Was feeling ancy late Thursday afternoon. Left the gig early to explore my thoughts. Free up my vibe. Replenish my energy. Ended up walking halfway to the gym. Skated the rest of the way.

Stopped in the Whole Foods at Fairfax/Santa Monica in search of a preworkout snack. Grabbed a big bottle of the 365 electrolyte water and a Rice Dream Mint Pie. Vegan vibes. Flag on the play.

IMG_3467.JPG

No sooner had I swallowed the last bite my body slipped into a coma. A sugary one. I literally began to nod off while sitting outside. Even considered not going to cycling later. Shook that notion immediately. Hopped on my board and headed west on Santa Monica boulevard.

Skated a few blocks down and spotted the Earth Bar sign. Foot drag. Rocks skid. Board pop. Floated in. Super bright interior. Shelves lined with all types of packaged health. I was more interested in their juice bar. Hung a right. Looked over their list of wellness shots and picked one based on its ingredients. I’ll take a double. This one is actually called Wellness. The irony.

IMG_3389-1.JPG

fresh lemon
ginger
oregano oil
Aged garlic extract
cayenne pepper

And double it they did. Tasted hot and oily going down. Throat was on fire. Chased the blaze with a few electrolytes. Voila. I was back in business. Okay, maybe five minutes later. But still I could feel it reversing the effects of my rice dream. Fun pun. Couldn’t resist.

IMG_3391.JPG

Made it to my cycle class with Meagan at 24 Hour Fitness. Had an intense class of hills and sprints. My first one in awhile. Wore my ankle brace more as a preventive measure than a response to pain. Being much smarter with my food and training these days. Next time you’re at a real (Jamba Juice does not count) juice spot order up a wellness shot with your drink. It will change your life. Stay happy, healthy and hydrated kids.

Leave a Reply

