I Feel Like An Athlete Again

Injury! Injury! Century! Century! I know. Doesn’t make sense. I just needed something to rhyme with injury. Not here to talk about the series of ankle injuries that have plagued my fitness journey for a year. Only to acknowledge that I’ve put a few HIIT classes under my belt since the doctor gave the green light a week ago.

IMG_2400.PNG

Instead of easing back in I dove in. Head first. I started with my most challenging classes. All HIIT(High Intensity Interval Training). Love this style of training because it pushes me beyond my mental and physical game. Kicked off my return with a couple of ATC classes, swim sessions in between and a NTC workout with one of Nike’s master trainers.

IMG_2474.JPG

IMG_2477.JPG

IMG_2480.JPG

IMG_2476.JPG

I’m slower. Fatter. And I mean that in the most sensitive way. Quietly convincing my ego. None of that matters to me. I’m an athlete. I always have been. Always will be. Athletes have set backs. They also have comebacks. Watch mine.

IMG_2464.JPG

Leave a Reply

