Natural Cold Medicine

Okay, so I’ve managed to get hit with the flu. Again. Flu-like symptoms. Or a severe cold accompanied by hot/cold sweats, fever, headache, body aches and a cough that won’t quit. I don’t know. But the last few days have been pretty miserable. After my trusty Theraflu failed to kick in after two dosages in an eight hour span I decided to turn to the internet in search of a more natural way to fight whatever was wreaking havoc on my immune system.

IMG_9328.JPG

Now you would think an avid juicer like myself would naturally go the natural route. Right? Wrong. I’ll be the first to scream, Bring on the drugs, if it means I’ll feel better sooner and can return to my fitness vibe quicker. So back to my friend Google. After a bit of research and about twenty recipes later, I decided to try this one. Snagged it from www.lindawagner.net. I left out the parsley. Oops! Was probably experiencing a feverish state of delirium as I attempted to shop for produce late Tuesday night.

IMG_9312.JPG

Natural Cold Medicine

kale
lime, unpeeled
mint leaves
cukes
green apple
water

IMG_9313.JPG

IMG_9314.JPG

Have to say after a few sips I could feel my temperature racked body starting to cool down. I’m not saying this juice was some instant miracle worker. Perhaps if I’d started drinking it at the first signs of cold and flu then yes. Foolishly I’d ignored the earlier signs of a sore throat and a slight cough. I’m always touting the message Listen to your body. True. It doesn’t just apply to working out and avoiding injury.

It applies to everything. The body can’t function with a weak immune system. Because this is my second bout of the flu in only a few short months I’ve decided to take preventive steps to combat LA’s fickle weather and most people’s reluctance to cover their mouths while sneezing and coughing.

Drink a nutrient dense green juice daily

Get enough sleep

Wash my hands more often

This green juice recipe was pretty awesome. Thanks Linda! I will definitely keep it in my arsenal. I’ve already made it twice. The second time replacing the mint with ginger. I love experimenting.Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

