Eat Ice Cream for Breakfast

Where to start? All I can say is this was so frickin’ good. Easily the best ice cream I’ve ever had. Not kidding. And I’ve had a lot. Guess that’s what happens when you use real food instead of fillers in a recipe. Yes, I’m talkin’ to you vegan manufacturers too.

Only my second time whipping up a batch. First time this year. If I’d known it was going to come out tasting this good I would have made enough to freeze for later instead of just a breakfast serving.

IMG_8330-1.JPG

IMG_8331.JPG

IMG_8332.JPG

In the Vegan Halls of Justice, plant eating super heroes refer to such a delight as Nice Cream. Emphasis on the fact that it’s cruelty free, dairy free…blah blah blah. Rolling my eyes and tossing yet another soapbox out of the window. No preaching here. I only want you to try something that is damn delicious and will sustain you at the top of the morning if you’re headed into a class or workout.

IMG_8333.JPG

IMG_8334.JPG

If you have a Nutribullet, like me, then you know that the blades are not very strong. Especially if you blend and juice as much as I do.

TIP: Let the frozen fruit thaw out for at least 10-15 minutes before blending.

If you’re lucky enough to own a Blendtec or Vitamix skip the tip. A decent blender should get the job done too. For thicker ice cream use less liquid. With the Nutribullet you have to use more liquid or the blades will begin to protest loudly.

Surprisingly enough mine still had an ice cream consistency. But lord, it would have been Bomb.com in a Blendtec. Santa was straight trippin’ last year. Like he didn’t see my list. Shakin’ my head like the ladies in church.

Get creative with the ingredients. Most recipes always seem to call for a splash of water as the base and only a few ingredients. I like doin’ my own thang. May the rules always be broken. Enjoy!

IMG_8375.PNG

4 thoughts on “Eat Ice Cream for Breakfast

  1. This looks so delicious.. This will diffidently be a breakfast sometime soon because its summer at the moment. Keep up your posts. Cheers, cyber-veggie

  2. omg i had exactly the same thing this morning! My next one will be banana, dates, cinnamon, coconut oil, chia seeds.

Leave a Reply

