Glad I Got Injured

Seems odd to say. Yet true. Reflecting on the past few weeks has helped me reach this point. No it has not been easy. I suffered a very bad sprain to my right ankle a week before Skate The Coast that left me on crutches.

IMG_5778.JPG

I couldn’t walk and using crutches for the first time in my life was painful and awkward. My armpits are still bruised. Unable to walk, workout or skate, I was left with the two things that have always been there for me in times of need, reading and writing. So that’s what I did. Of course after having a few hissy fits and throwing whatever was within arm’s reach at the furthest wall.

IMG_6488.JPG

I said all of that to say this, “Do everything.” Just because something happens to disrupt your life’s daily order doesn’t mean you have to stop living. Let anger and disappointment flower your other interests. That’s what I’m doing. Instead of playing the woe is me card I decided to stack the deck. And I’m not even a card player. That just sounded good. Pretty sure I heard it in a movie.

Yes, I miss my gym classes. Ummm…I’m gymclasseshero. Ankle’s still seven weeks out. No, I will not dwell on it. I will continue to do as much hot yoga as my soul can bare. Even dip in the pool to rehab this achy breaky ankle of mine. It’s super hard for me to swim in the winter time because the water is so damn cold. But I’ll give it a go. I’ll come back healthier and stronger. Not just physically.

By the way, I did the 18 mile skate for breast cancer. Ankle brace intact. Just don’t tell my doctor.

IMG_5749.JPG

Leave a Reply

