Speak Up Or Forever Hold Your Piece of Cake

20140626-232535-84335646.jpg

Ever feel as though no matter how many positive changes you’ve made in your life that people will always be looking for flashes of the “old you” so they can pass swift judgement? Been there. Hell, still there.

Not a day goes by when I’m not reminded of this. Sometimes it’s a subtle hint. Sometimes it’s outright criticism. I’m not perfect. Nor do I seek to be. But it completely blows my mind how people don’t hold themselves to the same standard.

I’m still learning that people are only what they choose to reveal. Deception is often mistaken for mystery. And having an opinion and not being afraid to assert it deems you as a social wart forever pulsating on the fragile ego of the silent majority.

With that being said, I shall turn my attention back to something far more important than public opinion. Me.

Acceptance is great when it’s genuine and unsolicited. But when it hinges on remaining silent, “going with the flow” or “playing the game”, I must part ways. If not physically then spiritually. Eventually the former will follow.

I take fancy in letting others have their cake. Watching them eat it too. As my heart opens more their perception dims. Ultimately shedding no light.

20140626-232627-84387004.jpg

Leave a Reply

