5 Gym Classes Myths

20140620-065710-25030888.jpg

Wrong. Wrong. Wrong. Stop falling for the bullshit. There are people who will have you believe that running on a treadmill and lifting weights is the only tried and true way to lose weight.

Wrong. Wrong. Wrong. Did I say that already? Contrary to popular belief, I don’t lift weights nor run. Not my thing. I’m not opposed to either. I just don’t like doing them because they’re boring. Merely my opinion. But clearly formed after trying more than once.

Calistenthics and functional strength training are a better cup of tea for me.

Wig toss to Frank Medrano. One of the first cats I saw doing some of the most amazing things with his body. No weights. I was immediately hooked and wanted to follow suit.

There are classes that I take like NTC and kickboxing that incorporate running and light to moderate weights into the vibe. That I dig.

I’m just over all of the gym junkies discounting other methods of losing weight, gaining muscle and maintaining a healthy and active lifestyle without ever having stepped foot into a pilates, NTC, Zumba, kickboxing, yoga, body pump, cycle, body attack or turbo kick class.

Today’s gym classes are not like those of yesteryear. They are designed to kick your ass. And that they will. Not only will your body change, you will gain a much deeper respect for their physical regimen and knowledge along the way.

So the next time someone asks, “Do you even lift bro?” Say, “Nah, I crosstrain bitch!”

20140620-073632-27392322.jpg

Leave a Reply

